Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectories

Topics about the HYSPLIT trajectory model.
Afrnsworth
Posts: 4
Joined: February 14th, 2014, 12:26 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectories

Post by Afrnsworth » February 17th, 2014, 4:15 pm

Hello all,
I have been trying to run some forecast and archive trajectory data from a Mac version of HYSPLIT, but I keep receiving an error "FTP failed: arlftp.arlhq.noaa.gov ---> (then whatever date combination I try).

Is this an old and stale server address, is the server down, or is there a newer version of HYSPLIT for Mac I should download? I downloaded this one (and registered) last year in mid-February.

Thanks for your help in advance!
Regards,
Andrew Farnsworth

ariel.stein
Posts: 637
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectori

Post by ariel.stein » February 18th, 2014, 12:22 pm

What specific days are you trying to download??

Afrnsworth
Posts: 4
Joined: February 14th, 2014, 12:26 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectori

Post by Afrnsworth » February 18th, 2014, 5:46 pm

Hello again,
I get this message for all dates, forecast or archived, that I have so far tried. This is why I was/am concerned that this might be an issue with a stale FTP address, or perhaps that I should be running a version newer than the May 2012 MAC HYSPLIT.

I can probably give you a specific set of dates to try, which I will try, but so far it's thrown an error with any single one I try.

For the record, this version of the software had worked previously on my Mac Pro, OSX 10.7.5.

Thanks,
Andrew

ariel.stein
Posts: 637
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectori

Post by ariel.stein » February 19th, 2014, 10:44 am

Can you please open a web browser with the following address?
ftp://arlftp.arlhq.noaa.gov/archives/gdas1/

let me know if you can see its contents.

Afrnsworth
Posts: 4
Joined: February 14th, 2014, 12:26 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectori

Post by Afrnsworth » February 19th, 2014, 10:46 am

To add a bit more to this, I did try the August 2013 release with the same outcomes . . . FTP failed.

Afrnsworth
Posts: 4
Joined: February 14th, 2014, 12:26 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectori

Post by Afrnsworth » February 19th, 2014, 10:48 am

Thank you for your reply.

Yes, I can see the contents of that address, or at least I presume I can see them all (about 1.07 GB).

Thanks,
Andrew

ariel.stein
Posts: 637
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectori

Post by ariel.stein » February 19th, 2014, 1:31 pm

You can download the data directly from the ftp server.

Gianro
Posts: 3
Joined: February 16th, 2015, 7:04 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: No

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectori

Post by Gianro » April 17th, 2015, 7:53 am

Where can I find ftp.exe? I've searched it in c:/hysplit4/exec/ but there's no match. Anyway I've turned off my firewall and I've installed the latest version but I've got the same problem and same message.
Thanks.

ariel.stein
Posts: 637
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectori

Post by ariel.stein » April 17th, 2015, 11:14 am

You can ftp the files directly from your web browser.
Just type ftp://arlftp.arlhq.noaa.gov/archives/
and you can choose the dataset you want to download (e.g. gdas, narr, nam12, etc)

peterming
Posts: 4
Joined: October 3rd, 2019, 7:40 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Ftp failed . . . when trying forecast/archive trajectories

Post by peterming » October 4th, 2019, 3:45 am

Hi, I have the same issue as you had. I'm also using a mac version Hysplit. It seems that the folder doesn't include the ftp exec file.

I got the error message as following

couldn't execute "ftp": no such file or directory
couldn't execute "ftp": no such file or directory
while executing
"exec ftp -n $ftparc(0) << $input"
invoked from within
"if [catch {package require ftp} rcode] {
if [info exists input] {unset input}
append input "user anonymous $Password\n"
append input..."
(procedure "ftp_cdata" line 27)
invoked from within
"ftp_cdata"
invoked from within
".getarc.bot.save invoke"
("uplevel" body line 1)
invoked from within
"uplevel #0 [list $w invoke]"
(procedure "tk::ButtonUp" line 23)
invoked from within
"tk::ButtonUp .getarc.bot.save"
(command bound to event)

Post Reply