add_data routine

General questions and postings pertaining to the use of HYSPLIT regardless of the platform. For platform specific questions, use the HYSPLIT Platform forums.
Post Reply
federica
Posts: 31
Joined: November 12th, 2014, 5:17 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

add_data routine

Post by federica »

Hello,

I'm trying to modify the wind components of a meteo data using a wind profile derived from observations. I think the routine add_data is what I'm looking for, but I cannot produce the new meteo file.

Attached the observation file (observation_input_file.txt).

I'm running the following command:

./add_data observation_input_file.txt extract_26568.bin -d -z1

and I get the following output on screen:

NOTE: All grid points will be modified by observations
Number of INDX records: 3
First time period in gridded file (YY MM DD HH MM): 18 12 22 0 0
Last time period in gridded file (YY MM DD HH MM): 18 12 28 21 0
Temperature will be blended: T
Turbulence will be blended: T
Loaded data for # time periods: 1
Loaded data for max # stations: 1
Loaded data for max # data lvl: 6
Number of time period in observational data: 1

Skipping observations at: 18 12 24 16 0

The only output file that I get is a MESSAGE file (attached).

Is there anything I'm doing wrong?

Many thanks for any help you can give me.

Best
Federica
Attachments
observation_input_file.txt
(375 Bytes) Downloaded 69 times
MESSAGE.txt
(146 Bytes) Downloaded 67 times
barbara.stunder
Posts: 425
Joined: November 9th, 2012, 4:23 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: add_data routine

Post by barbara.stunder »

The date/time of the observation (Dec 24, 16 UTC) is before the start of the meteo file (Dec 22, 00 UTC).
federica
Posts: 31
Joined: November 12th, 2014, 5:17 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: add_data routine

Post by federica »

Thanks!

Setting the observation time equal to the start of the meteo data I can produce the new meteo file.

However, I still get this error:

Station outside of gridded file boundary (lat,lon): 37.00 15.00

The problem is that those points are inside my domain.

Thanks again for you help
Federica
barbara.stunder
Posts: 425
Joined: November 9th, 2012, 4:23 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: add_data routine

Post by barbara.stunder »

Are you using a lat-lon grid? The program add_data is designed for a conformal grid, not a lat-lon grid.
federica
Posts: 31
Joined: November 12th, 2014, 5:17 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: add_data routine

Post by federica »

Yes, I'm using a lat-lon grid. So, is this a problem of the wind-field that I'm using (in this case a GDAS 1.0 deg) or of my lat-lon point? I tried with different wind-fields, but I still get the same error.
Many thanks for your help!
barbara.stunder
Posts: 425
Joined: November 9th, 2012, 4:23 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: add_data routine

Post by barbara.stunder »

It's a problem of the meteorology data (gdas1). For example a lambert conformal grid would work.
federica
Posts: 31
Joined: November 12th, 2014, 5:17 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: add_data routine

Post by federica »

I've tried with a lambent conformal grid and it worked.
Many thanks!
Post Reply