Error while using grib2arl

Post questions and find resources to convert meteorological data into a format HYSPLIT can read.
Post Reply
indumati_sp
Posts: 8
Joined: November 20th, 2012, 12:46 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Error while using grib2arl

Post by indumati_sp » April 18th, 2019, 6:53 am

I am using the NCEP FNL (Grib1) data from https://rda.ucar.edu/datasets/ds083.2/#description . Upon running the grib2arl conversion program, I am getting the following message.

"-bash-4.1$ grib2arl.exe -ifnl_20010525_00_00.grib1.nc -s -c -d0.01 -x72.9 -y19.0 -g3 -n220 -k20 -p0 -q0 -r6 -t744 -z1
err:xrandr:xrandr12_init_modes Failed to get primary CRTC info.
err:xrandr:xrandr12_init_modes Failed to get primary CRTC info.
This program only supports GRIB edition 1
-bash-4.1$ err:xrandr:xrandr12_init_modes Failed to get primary CRTC info."


Kindly help.

barbara.stunder
Posts: 324
Joined: November 9th, 2012, 4:23 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Error while using grib2arl

Post by barbara.stunder » April 29th, 2019, 1:42 pm

The error message is implying the data are not grib1. Please confirm.

indumati_sp
Posts: 8
Joined: November 20th, 2012, 12:46 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Error while using grib2arl

Post by indumati_sp » May 1st, 2019, 2:02 am

As mentioned before, I have used data from https://rda.ucar.edu/datasets/ds083.2/#description . If the data from this source is not grib1 format, then what is the source of grib1 data? Kindly provide link.

yaqiang
Posts: 44
Joined: October 5th, 2015, 10:20 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Error while using grib2arl

Post by yaqiang » May 3rd, 2019, 6:34 am

The website also provide 'Data Format Conversion' option for users to download the data as netcdf data format. Your data file looks like netcdf format with .nc postfix.

barbara.stunder
Posts: 324
Joined: November 9th, 2012, 4:23 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Error while using grib2arl

Post by barbara.stunder » May 6th, 2019, 3:11 pm

I am not familiar with the data at rda.ucar.edu. NCEP used to produce grib1 format data, but now produces grib2.

Post Reply