Linux version

Topics about the HYSPLIT dispersion model.
Post Reply
indumati_sp
Posts: 8
Joined: November 20th, 2012, 12:46 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Linux version

Post by indumati_sp » April 16th, 2019, 3:23 am

What is the command line to use hycs_std (hyts_std) with the Control file in Linux ?

alicec
Posts: 134
Joined: February 8th, 2016, 12:56 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Linux version

Post by alicec » April 16th, 2019, 9:41 am

The executables are

hycs_std
hyts_std

So you just need to type in the path along with the executable name.
e.g.

/home/hysplit/trunk/exec/hycs_std


Alice

indumati_sp
Posts: 8
Joined: November 20th, 2012, 12:46 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Linux version

Post by indumati_sp » April 18th, 2019, 3:25 am

Thank you for the reply. That is the command line that I have previously also used, but I get the following message.

"-bash-4.1$ hycs_std CONTROL
HYSPLIT4 - Initialization CONTROL
USE: svn info | tail -n3
to fill in these three records
with the version information!
Enter starting time (year, month, day, hour)
0 0 0 0 "

Why is it asking for the inputs if the control file is already present?

alicec
Posts: 134
Joined: February 8th, 2016, 12:56 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Linux version

Post by alicec » April 18th, 2019, 7:10 am

Do not write CONTROL after the hycs_std.
hycs_std automatically looks for a file called CONTROL and SETUP.CFG in the directory that it is executed in.
So the command is simply

hycs_std

If you input text after the command, then it looks for a file with a suffix that matches the text.
For example, this is useful if you want to have more than one control, setup file in a directory.
You could name them
CONTROL.001, SETUP.001
CONTROL.002, SETUP.002
CONTROL.003, SEUP.003

and run hysplit with the commands

hycs_std 001
hycs_std 002
hycs_std 003

so when you write hycs_std CONTROL it is looking for a file called CONTROL.CONTROL.
When it does not find the file, it asks you for the inputs.

Post Reply