How can I check if the top of the model domain?

General questions and postings pertaining to the use of HYSPLIT regardless of the platform. For platform specific questions, use the HYSPLIT Platform forums.
Post Reply
szabob
Posts: 9
Joined: February 20th, 2019, 12:58 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

How can I check if the top of the model domain?

Post by szabob » March 6th, 2019, 10:41 am

According to the HYSPLIT4 Users' Guide the default value of the top of the model is 10000, but it can set if the model domain exceed. How can I check if the default value is suitable and we can trust in the result?
Thank you for your response in advance!

szabob
Posts: 9
Joined: February 20th, 2019, 12:58 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: How can I check if the top of the model domain?

Post by szabob » March 12th, 2019, 6:28 am

I tried to check the top of the domain with the following way:

1) run the profile.exe: cmd C:\hysplit4\exec>profile.exe –dc:\hysplit4\working\ -f20161025_gdas0p5 –y49 –x15 –t3
where the options:
-d is Input metdata directory name with ending \
-f the input metdata file name
-y the latitude (I used the starting location)
-x the longitude (I used the starting location)
-t the output time interval (hrs)

2) I received the profile.txt (attached)
3) calculation of the hyprid-sigma pressure levels to meter with hypsometric equation

h=RT/g ln⁡(p0/p)
where
R is the gas constant of dry air: 287.04 J/kg/K
T the virtual temperature in K
p0 is the surface pressure (pressure of 2D field)
p the sigma-pressure levels (first colum in the 3D field)

I calculated the height based on the data 2016 10 25 00 and at 18:00 as well because it was the closest to the stating hour (17:00). I got result concerning the largest domain top: 26680 m.

Can someone inform me if this way is correct?
Attachments
profile_20161025_49_15.txt
(40.03 KiB) Downloaded 24 times

barbara.stunder
Posts: 306
Joined: November 9th, 2012, 4:23 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: How can I check if the top of the model domain?

Post by barbara.stunder » March 18th, 2019, 8:35 am

Your calculation is correct. Check the MESSAGE file for a NOTICE about "extrapolation from level". Generally you don't want that.

Post Reply