topography

Post any praises for the work of the HYSPLIT Developers and the products they make available to the public or any helpful criticisms so that we can do a better job of providing quality products.
Post Reply
asal
Posts: 36
Joined: January 29th, 2015, 10:01 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

topography

Post by asal » May 20th, 2015, 10:05 am

Hello
I have a question.
Is the Hysplit model to run trajectory model, consider surface topography ?

ariel.stein
Posts: 637
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: topography

Post by ariel.stein » May 20th, 2015, 10:56 am

Yes, the model uses the topography from the meteorological data. If that is not available it will use the topography data located under the bdyfiles directory (TERRAIN.ASC)

asal
Posts: 36
Joined: January 29th, 2015, 10:01 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: topography

Post by asal » May 21st, 2015, 2:50 am

I use WRF model data.
How can use the TERRAIN.ASC file for topography?

ariel.stein
Posts: 637
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: topography

Post by ariel.stein » May 21st, 2015, 9:10 am

If you are using WRF then HYSPLIT will use the terrain that WRF has.
HYSPLIT runs on a following terrain sigma coordinate, so whatever WRF provides is what HYSPLIT will use.

Clive
Posts: 1
Joined: January 11th, 2018, 9:17 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: No

Re: topography

Post by Clive » January 11th, 2018, 9:18 am

Got it! Thanks for the clarification.
The future is now. We live indeed in one of the most fascinating moments in history. No doubt this acticle opened my eyes. We should use the latest technologies and advanced solutions everywhere, in my opinion.

Post Reply