Multiple species simulations

Post Reply
phamkimlong
Posts: 2
Joined: September 20th, 2019, 11:09 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Multiple species simulations

Post by phamkimlong »

We can't run Cs-137 and I-131 at the same time, right? Thank you
christopher.loughner
Posts: 57
Joined: August 15th, 2017, 3:59 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: No

Re: Multiple species simulations

Post by christopher.loughner »

Yes, you can run with multiple species. In the Concentration Setup menu 1) click on the Pollutants, Deposition, and Grids setup button; 2) under pollutant change =1 to =2; and 3) click on specie 1 and specie 2 under pollutant and deposition to configure the emissions rate and deposition properties for the two species.
hyun.kim
Posts: 16
Joined: June 11th, 2020, 8:29 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Multiple species simulations

Post by hyun.kim »

You can run multi radioactive nuclides in two ways.
1) As Chris suggested, set multiple pollutants with each decay rate.
2) Run the simulation for radionuclides and noble gases without decaying rate. Apply decay rate later using a post-processing tool. This is what Roland showed in 15.3, and it can save simulation time for the multi-species run.

Hyun
phamkimlong
Posts: 2
Joined: September 20th, 2019, 11:09 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Multiple species simulations

Post by phamkimlong »

Thank you!
Post Reply

Return to “17. Custom simulations”