HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post questions about HYSPLIT installation.
jinqj10@utexas.edu
Posts: 6
Joined: June 21st, 2020, 11:59 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by jinqj10@utexas.edu »

I have installed tcl/tk, imagemagic, and hystplit, but it is not working. After I click hysplit icon on the desktop, it shows a blank hysplit window. Anyone knows how to fix the installation? Thanks.

Qinjian
aring
Posts: 29
Joined: June 12th, 2020, 7:04 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by aring »

Hi Quinjian,

If you right click on your desktop icon, you should see in the Preview window at the bottom of the window that pops up, something like this:

#!/bin/sh
cd ${HOME}/hysplit/working/guicode/hysplit.tcl &

with some more information below. This should be the shortcut to launching hysplit. If you do not see this, please be sure your hysplit folder is installed in your ${HOME} directory.

Thank you,
Allison
jinqj10@utexas.edu
Posts: 6
Joined: June 21st, 2020, 11:59 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by jinqj10@utexas.edu »

Thank you, Allison. Here is what I get:

#!/bin/sh
cd ${HOME}/hysplit/working
../guicode/hysplit.tcl &
# closes all open terminals
# kill $(ps -p $(ps -p $PPID -o ppid=) -o ppid=)
# only closes this open terminal
osascript -e 'tell application "Terminal" to close first window' & exit
aring
Posts: 29
Joined: June 12th, 2020, 7:04 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by aring »

Great.
Now please check to be sure your hysplit installation is installed in your ${HOME} directory. For me, my ${HOME} directory is /Users/aring/ and my hysplit folder is located here (/Users/aring/hysplit/). It may be that your desktop icon cannot find your hysplit installation.
jinqj10@utexas.edu
Posts: 6
Joined: June 21st, 2020, 11:59 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by jinqj10@utexas.edu »

My hysplit installed at "/Users/bingpu/hysplit".
I tried run "./hysplit.sh" from the directory of /Users/bingpu/hysplit/working and get the following error:
"31:49: execution error: Terminal got an error: Can’t get window 1. Invalid index. (-1719)"
aring
Posts: 29
Joined: June 12th, 2020, 7:04 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by aring »

Ok, try running it from /Users/bingpu/hysplit/guicode in your terminal window. (Please let me know if you need help opening a terminal window)
In terminal, cd into the directory:
cd /Users/bingpu/hysplit/guicode

then type:

./hysplit.tcl

Does the gui pop up for you? If so, go with this method for now, and I will look into your error more closely.

What MacOS version are you using?
jinqj10@utexas.edu
Posts: 6
Joined: June 21st, 2020, 11:59 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by jinqj10@utexas.edu »

~/hysplit/guicode >./hysplit.tcl
The above command pops up a window titled "Hysplit", but it is a blank window with no contents.

It's macOS Mojave Version 10.14.6.
aring
Posts: 29
Joined: June 12th, 2020, 7:04 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by aring »

Have you tried re-downloading the hysplit mac installation? It may be your download was corrupted and you are missing some files.
jinqj10@utexas.edu
Posts: 6
Joined: June 21st, 2020, 11:59 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by jinqj10@utexas.edu »

I just delete my old .dmg file and re-downloaded a new one and installed it, but it is still a blank GUI window. Not sure what's wrong.
aring
Posts: 29
Joined: June 12th, 2020, 7:04 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: HYSPLIT desk icon not working on Mac OS

Post by aring »

Hi Qinjian,

Can you please attach a screenshot of the hysplit.tcl window you are seeing?

Also, please be sure to delete all hysplit files (/Users/bingpu/hysplit/), not just the old dmg. We need to be sure all old hysplit files are removed before attempting a reinstall.

Thank you!
Post Reply