Input data grids for CONTROL in wrf-hysplit

HYSPLIT was originally designed to run offline utilizing meteorological data such as are provided by WRF-ARW. A new model framework has been developed that the revised HYSPLIT model is coupled inline with WRF-ARW to take advantage of the higher temporal frequency of the meteorological variables produced by the meteorological model, as well as using WRF-ARW's vertical coordinate scheme. The inline coupling approach is a more consistent depiction of the state of the atmosphere available to the dispersion model through the elimination of the need to interpolate the meteorological fields temporally and vertically. This forum was created to foster discussion on the use of the In-line WRF-HYSPLIT coupling.
Post Reply
Christian813
Posts: 15
Joined: January 25th, 2018, 1:28 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Input data grids for CONTROL in wrf-hysplit

Post by Christian813 » February 13th, 2018, 1:22 pm

Hello, this may be a basic question but I can't understand what kind of input I need to indicate in the CONTROL text with wrf-hysplit. I have seen some using grib2 but I couldn't understand how hysplit uses wrf simulation then, cause I thought it would use wrfout. If there is some information that I'm missing, I would thank forever if you share a link.

Thank you very much,
Christian

Fantine
Posts: 63
Joined: November 8th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Re: Input data grids for CONTROL in wrf-hysplit

Post by Fantine » February 16th, 2018, 11:11 am

If you are using the inline version of HYSPLIT (coupled with WRF), it does not use the met input files mentioned in the CONTROL file because met data are directly from WRF. More detail info can be found in the technical note available on the inline HYSPLIT web page : https://www.arl.noaa.gov/hysplit/inline ... -coupling/

If you are using the standard HYSPLIT, it can take various met input files including WRF. You can go the HYSPLIT tutorial to see how to set up the model for that.
https://ready.arl.noaa.gov/documents/Tu ... _cexp.html
https://ready.arl.noaa.gov/documents/Tu ... _data.html

Christian813
Posts: 15
Joined: January 25th, 2018, 1:28 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Input data grids for CONTROL in wrf-hysplit

Post by Christian813 » February 16th, 2018, 3:17 pm

Thank you very much for your response. Actually, I'm using the inline HYSPLIT (coupled with wrf). I read the technical note but says little about the CONTROL format for wrf-hysplit, but now I understand that should be the same except for the input data grid section. So, since the inline HYSPLIT use met input directly from wrf and does not use the met input files mentioned in the CONTROL file should I leave it blank or leave any directory on that section?

All this comes because I'm getting an error when running wrf and I'm trying to figure it out the reason:

########From rsl.error:
Timing for main: time 2002-02-08_01:59:00 on domain 1: 0.63455 elapsed seconds

Program received signal SIGSEGV: Segmentation fault - invalid memory reference.

Backtrace for this error:
#0 0x7F01427C8777
#1 0x7F01427C8D7E
#2 0x7F0141F00CAF
#3 0x2B12623 in hyconc_
#4 0x1F59D46 in hymain_
#5 0x1F3A9ED in solve_em_
#6 0x1D3421E in solve_interface_
#7 0x494907 in __module_integrate_MOD_integrate
#8 0x40A853 in __module_wrf_top_MOD_wrf_run

#######From rsl.out it ends in:

Timing for main: time 2002-02-08_01:59:00 on domain 1: 0.63455 elapsed seconds
aaa hysp/hymain ====================================================
aaa time_step= 60 60.0000000
bbb in hysp/metini grid%id= 1
bbb ccdate=2002-02-08_01:59:00
bbb stdate=2002-02-08_00:00:00
bbb endate=2002-02-12_00:00:00
bbb sec= 0 0 0
aaa in hysp/tminit 18262 36524
bbb FIRST%MACC= 53702040 53702039 60
bbb HYFL%FIRST= 2 2 8 2 0
bbb macc= 53702040 53701920 53707680 2
bbb ssac= 3.22212250E+09
bbb ssac= -1072844896 -1072852096 -1072506496
bbb pole_lat= 29.7389984 -114.051003 29.7389984
bbb ref_lon= -114.051003 9.00000000 0.00000000
bbb tang_lat= 29.7389984 50.0000000 66.0000000
bbb sync_lat= 29.7390137 -114.050995
bbb latlon= F F 9.00000000 F
bbb KDEF= 0 1 2
bbb KZMIX= 0 1.00000000
bbb end of metini => return back to hymain!
ccc hysp/metdum
1 100 1 132 1 29
-4 105 -4 51 1 29
1 100 1 44 1 29
ccc hyeta= 29 1.00000000 0.996500015 0.987999976 0.976500034 0.962000012 0.944000006 0.921499968 0.894500017 0.854726970 0.804180920 0.753634870 0.703088880 0.634450197 0.551993132 0.477732956 0.410990864 0.351135433 0.297579706 0.249778733 0.207226723 0.169454858 0.136028811 0.106829852 8.19029436E-02 6.08725920E-02 4.31296937E-02 2.81603523E-02 1.55310109E-02 4.87586996E-03
ccc size= 110 29 56
ccc isfc= 2 3 100.474449
ccc isfc= 2
yyy hysp/prfcom tkerd= 0.180000007 0.180000007 2
yyy mixd= T 0 250 1
yyy uflx= T F F T F
yyy size= 110 29 56
yyy jms= -4 51 1 44
yyy ktop= 29 T 0
yyy end of prfcom => return back to metdum!
ccc end of metdum => return back to hymain!
aaa hymacc= 53702040 0 1
www hysp/hyconc hycount= 120 60.0000000
www mpi= 1140850688 0 0
www starting HYSPLIT computation! 0
www jet= -1072844896 -1072844896
ddd HYDT= 60.0000000 60.0000000 2
www spot%xp= 35.9870300 105.149414 0.884965003 1000.00000
ddd HYGD%LX1= 0 0 0 0
ddd QFILE= F F
ddd setup trajectories starting points!
tj= 1 35.9870300 105.149414 0.884965003
ddd number of trajectories... 1
ddd kpt= 0 1 0.00000000
ddd XPOS= -9999.00000 -9999.00000 -9999.00000



I attached my namelist.input and my CONTROL file. I'm having problems attaching my rsl.error and rsl.out, but they end as the previously pasted and don't say much more. I'm using the WRF-chem core version 3.9.1, but as the namelist says, all of the chemical options are off as running a standard WRF-ARW.

Thank you very much!
Attachments
namelist.txt
(5.3 KiB) Downloaded 78 times
CONTROL.txt
(1.56 KiB) Downloaded 84 times

Fantine
Posts: 63
Joined: November 8th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Re: Input data grids for CONTROL in wrf-hysplit

Post by Fantine » February 16th, 2018, 4:41 pm

The CONTROL file used for the inline HYSPLIT is the same for the standard HYSPLIT. You do not need to make any change to it for running inline.

For running dispersion with the inline system, you should set run_traj=0 and set other parameters in the &hysplit section like setting up SETUP.CFG for the standard HYSPLIT. There is a README.hysplit in the inline package to explain what those parameters are relevant to HYSPLIT.

If you want to run trajectories, I will suggest you do the trajectory with the standard HYSPLIT using the WRF output you generated.

Post Reply