Are concentration values needed to run dispersion models?

General questions and postings pertaining to the use of HYSPLIT regardless of the platform. For platform specific questions, use the HYSPLIT Platform forums.
lmeade1
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Are concentration values needed to run dispersion models?

Post by lmeade1 »

Hello, my name is Eddie Meade. I am a graduate research student at Towson University. We have several air filter samples that we are doing chemical analysis on and are looking to use the HYSPLIT model to correlate the compounds that we are finding on the samples and in the air mass to meteorological data. Essentially, we want to be able to run a forward and backward dispersion model for the dates that we took our samples. I know that HYSPLIT has the ability to run these dispersion models, but do we need to have concentration values for the samples in order to run the model? Or is it just the meteorological data that is required? I ask because we have hundreds of compounds on the samples, all in varying concentrations, so I am unsure of the best way to proceed if the model needs compound specific information in order to do the forward and backward dispersion. Any help or input would be greatly appreciated.
glenn.rolph

Re: Are concentration values needed to run dispersion models

Post by glenn.rolph »