Problem with trajmean

General questions and postings pertaining to the use of HYSPLIT regardless of the platform. For platform specific questions, use the HYSPLIT Platform forums.
Post Reply
tanksnr
Posts: 1
Joined: August 7th, 2014, 4:02 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: No

Problem with trajmean

Post by tanksnr »

Hi there folks,

I'm using HYSPLIT for PC (unregistered) to generate clusters of backward trajectories to a point.
I'm automating the process, but I get the problem when using the GUI as well.

Here's a snip of my batch:

Code: Select all

copy infiles\INFILE_klip_DJF.txt INFILE

echo 21 >> CCONTROL
echo 1 >> CCONTROL
echo 1 >> CCONTROL
echo ./ >> CCONTROL
echo 0 >> CCONTROL

cluster
clusend -iDELPCT -n2 -a10 -t15 -p30 -oCLUSEND
cluslist -iCLUSTER -n3 -oCLUSLIST_3
clusmem -iCLUSLIST_3

merglist -i+TRAJ.INP.C1_3 -omdump -ptdump
RENAME mdump.tdump C1.tdump
trajmean -i+TRAJ.INP.C1_3 
RENAME tmean C1mean.tdump
I create the infile with all my tdump files.
Run the cluster exec.
Create some stats and choose 3 as the number of clusters I want (yes hardcoded for now).
Then I create the list of trajectories within each cluster.

Merging the trajectories goes fine. What I see in the files are what I'd expect.
As soon as I run trajmean however, the output looks really wrong regarding the coordinates.
e.g. here's the first few lines of the output from merging:

Code: Select all

     1     1
    GFSG    13    12    31    18    -9
    24 BACKWARD OMEGA    MERGLIST
    13     1     1    21  -26.420   28.085    10.0
    13     1     7    21  -26.420   28.085    10.0
    13     1    11    21  -26.420   28.085    10.0
Here's the first few lines after trajmean:

Code: Select all

     1     1
    GFSG    14     1     4    12    -9
     3 BACKWARD OMEGA    MERGMEAN
    13    12    28    21  -26.251  387.956    10.0
    13    12    16    21  -26.251  387.956    10.0
    13    12    31    21  -26.251  387.956    10.0
I have no idea where it's picking up that 387.956 from.
I get similar results from the GUI.
fmet.metoc
Posts: 7
Joined: June 17th, 2014, 3:23 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Problem with trajmean

Post by fmet.metoc »

(I'm not a HYSPLIT expert - but have encountered similar in other apps): Do those values represent longitudes? If so, maybe they are just out by 360 degrees. (387.956 - 360 = 27.956) When plotted, they are probably equivalent.
barbara.stunder
Posts: 451
Joined: November 9th, 2012, 4:23 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Problem with trajmean

Post by barbara.stunder »

Yes, that is longitude, and as stated, it should plot alright.
Post Reply

Return to “Users”