Does using height in AGL takes local topography into account?

General questions and postings pertaining to the use of HYSPLIT regardless of the platform. For platform specific questions, use the HYSPLIT Platform forums.
Post Reply
mstill
Posts: 16
Joined: September 15th, 2017, 6:22 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Does using height in AGL takes local topography into account?

Post by mstill »

Hi,

I'm calculating back trajectories with the output in AGL. I saw in the output trajectory that the air parcel is going over a lot of mountainous terrain. So, I want to make sure if using the starting height in AGL by default takes the local terrain into account or not?

Thanks,
ariel.stein
Posts: 654
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Does using height in AGL takes local topography into account?

Post by ariel.stein »

When you choose to use the height in AGL the model uses the terrain information that is included with the meteorological data. So, different meteorological data with different horizontal resolutions will have different terrain information.
mstill
Posts: 16
Joined: September 15th, 2017, 6:22 am
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Does using height in AGL takes local topography into account?

Post by mstill »

Thank you for the explanation.
Post Reply