Clarification on meteorological data

Pavan Aditya
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Clarification on meteorological data

Post by Pavan Aditya »

sir/madam
I am new to HYSPLIT. I am using PC version of HYSPLIT. In the tutorial meteorological data, the following files were given
1)captex2_narr.bin
2) captex2_wrf27.bin
3)captex2_wrf09.bin etc etc
In my PC the first file was there. The other files I fail to find them. In this regard I have two questions
a) How to get a region-specific data (Ex.India)
b) How to couple the meteorological files to HYSPLIT? Should there be any knowledge of any programming languages for attaining this purpose?
Please guide.
barbara.stunder

Re: Clarification on meteorological data

Post by barbara.stunder »

Please continue on in the Tutorial following the cases in the U.S. Then you should be able to apply this to India. There is information on archived and forecast data in a format for input to HYSPLIT at:
https://ready.arl.noaa.gov/archives.php
https://ready.arl.noaa.gov/READYmetdata.php
Pavan Aditya

Post by Pavan Aditya »

Sir/Mam
In topic 4-3 Estimating mixed layer depths, In Meteorology---->Display Data----->Text profile menu option, regarding the information about offset and increment radio buttons, I didn't understand the line "However, we already know that the file starts at 15 UTC and the tracer release started at 17 UTC. Therefore by setting the offset=3 hours and the increment=0, only one time period, 18 UTC will be extracted from the file." Can you please explain in detail especially about offset 3 hours and increment 0.
Thanks in advance
barbara.stunder

An offset of 3 hours means that 3 hours into the meteorology file, the data is read. In this case, the meteorology starts at 15z, so the first time period read by the 'profile' program is 18z.

The interval means the time interval after the first time period read to read the next time period and output the profile. Here 0, means no other time periods are read.
Pavan Aditya