As an airline pilot I always check the volcanic ash dispersion forecasts for Colima and Popoctptl whenever I fly

Post questions, comments and links to research (research papers, web sites, etc) involving HYSPLIT and volcanic ash. This section is also to facilitate collaborations between researchers involved in volcanic ash transport and dispersion.
sonny.zinn
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

As an airline pilot I always check the volcanic ash dispersion forecasts for Colima and Popoctptl whenever I fly

Post by sonny.zinn »

[Note that the question and the answer below are recreated from a HYSPLIT FAQ site that predates this forum site. The original posting date is unknown.]

Question:
As an airline pilot I always check the volcanic ash dispersion forecasts for Colima and Popoctptl whenever I fly Toronto-Mexico City, however I’m a little uncertain as to just how much gravity I should treat them with. If I was flying, say, from Miami to Mexico City at 18000ft can you tell me just what I might encounter if VAFTAD has a big red “blotch” along my route? Should I be planning to avoid it altogether or is the ash likely to be too dissipated to cause a problem?

Answer: