What are the minimum fields needed for HYSPLIT?

Post questions and find resources to convert meteorological data into a format HYSPLIT can read.
Post Reply
arl.noaa
Posts: 33
Joined: November 9th, 2012, 2:49 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: No

What are the minimum fields needed for HYSPLIT?

Post by arl.noaa »

Hello,

I am a new user to HYSPLIT. We are trying to convert some Netcfd files to ARL format to do some back trajectories; I can't seem to find documentation about what parameters are required to do back-trajectories. If you could let me know which parameters need to be in our files, or even point us in the right direction, it would be much appreciated!

Thank you,
glenn.rolph
Posts: 362
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 1:39 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: What are the minimum fields needed for HYSPLIT?

Post by glenn.rolph »

HYSPLIT requires at a minimum, u,v,& w wind components,temperature,surface pressure, and height if on pressure surfaces in three dimensions (relative humidity or specific humidty are optional). You can find more information on the meteorological data in our workshop tutorials at:

http://www.arl.noaa.gov/HYSPLIT_workshop.php
gracy.hm
Posts: 12
Joined: November 28th, 2012, 12:19 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: What are the minimum fields needed for HYSPLIT?

Post by gracy.hm »

Hi,
when we plot trajectories which option we should take to plot trajectories. Iscentropic trajectories calculation or Sigma calculation for trajectories calculation.
Se the image , according to what option we select out output thus our inferences will be entirely different .

Please have a look.

Thanks
Gracy
ariel.stein
Posts: 653
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: What are the minimum fields needed for HYSPLIT?

Post by ariel.stein »

Please refer to the answer given in subject: Trajectory option
Post Reply