Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post any questions or comments regarding the LINUX version of HYSPLIT. This includes the model execution, GUIs, results, or graphics. Be sure to mention the version of LINUX you are using.
sihaike
Posts: 1
Joined: October 10th, 2014, 9:40 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: No

Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by sihaike » November 17th, 2014, 1:34 am

Hello Pro.
I've met a problem when./compile.sh,Which told me that :
./compile.sh: 36: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 38: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 40: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 42: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 43: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 44: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 46: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 47: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 49: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 50: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 52: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 53: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 54: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 57: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 58: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 59: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 61: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 62: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 63: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 65: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 66: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 67: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 69: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 70: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 71: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 73: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 74: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 76: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 77: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 78: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 79: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 81: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 82: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 83: dos2unix: not found
./compile.sh: 84: dos2unix: not found
Building fcsubs library
Building hysplit source library
Building exec directory programs
Building the ascii2shp converter
Building the dbf editor
Building the WRF-ARW decoder (requires export NetCDF lib/include)
ERROR i compile my hysplit under the trunk directory.
How could I solve my problem.THANKS IN ADVANCE.

ariel.stein
Posts: 617
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by ariel.stein » November 17th, 2014, 10:14 am

What is exactly the problem?
Do you have your programs compiled under the exec directory?

kto031
Posts: 25
Joined: February 20th, 2014, 3:05 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by kto031 » January 2nd, 2015, 8:50 pm

I have them same problem as above, but I'm trying to compile hysplit in yellowstone.
How do I fix this problem?

Best,
Kristine

ariel.stein
Posts: 617
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by ariel.stein » January 5th, 2015, 10:26 am

Did you take a look under the "exec" directory?

kto031
Posts: 25
Joined: February 20th, 2014, 3:05 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by kto031 » January 5th, 2015, 10:24 pm

Yes. This is where I change the compiler from GFOR to INTL? But exactly what lines am I changing? Because now I can't even build the exec directory programs.
And do I also change something under the trunk/library/fcsubs/Makefile?

ariel.stein
Posts: 617
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by ariel.stein » January 6th, 2015, 9:42 am

Yes, there are 2 places where you need to change the compiler choice. One is under libraries/hysplit/ and the second one is under exec/
Open the Makefile and edit the FC and the CFLAGS variables.

ariel.stein
Posts: 617
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by ariel.stein » January 6th, 2015, 9:47 am

You can compile the executables without the c libraries. Just comment the line that links to them.
# CLIB=-lfcsubs

kto031
Posts: 25
Joined: February 20th, 2014, 3:05 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by kto031 » January 7th, 2015, 9:05 pm

This is the new error message that I get:

Building fcsubs library
Building hysplit source library
Building exec directory programs
Building the ascii2shp converter
Building the dbf editor
Building the WRF-ARW decoder (requires export NetCDF lib/include)
Building the CMAQ converters (requires NetCDF & IOAPI)
ln: creating symbolic link `hysplit4.tcl': File exists

I followed the Readme.txt:

5) Although not required for the basic HYSPLIT installation, the "compile.sh"
script will stop when it gets to the routines that requre the NetCDF
library. You will need to have NetCDF installed to /usr/local, otherwise
the Makefiles in hysplit/data2arl/arw2arl and hysplit/cmaq would need to
be edited to point to the correct installation directory.

And changed these things:

# IOAPI LIBRARY
API = /glade/apps/opt/netcdf/4.3.0/intel/12.1.5/lib

# exported in calling script
NETINC = /glade/apps/opt/netcdf/4.3.0/intel/12.1.5/include
NETLIB = /glade/apps/opt/netcdf/4.3.0/intel/12.1.5/lib

# library name for netCDF3=netcdf and for netCDF4=netcdff
# LINKS = -L$(NETLIB) -lnetcdf -L../library -lhysplit
LINKS = -L$(NETLIB) -lnetcdff -L../library -lhysplit

What could I have done wrong?

-Kristine

ariel.stein
Posts: 617
Joined: November 7th, 2012, 3:14 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes
Contact:

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by ariel.stein » January 8th, 2015, 10:24 am

Nothing is wrong.
It seems that you have compiled everything that needs to be compiled.
If you check your exec directory you should have all the executables there.
Also, in the working directory you should find a link to hysplit4.tcl that strarts the GUI.

kto031
Posts: 25
Joined: February 20th, 2014, 3:05 pm
Registered HYSPLIT User: Yes

Re: Problem on compiling the hysplit Linux version

Post by kto031 » January 8th, 2015, 5:19 pm

Okay. The directory just looks different. I was able to run the test files too.
Thank you for helping!

Post Reply